Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Web Development] >> Search Engine Optimization and Web Business



Message


pmagas -> Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 11:33:48)

I received a fax this morning 'advising me that a domain name has become available for registration.' It's a variation of a domain name that I own. I own www.talkstlouis.com - this one is for www.talkstlouis.us

My first instinct was that someone was just trying to sell me something, but then I began to wonder... is someone trying to register a variation of my domain so I'm being advised?

It's not clear who this is from - which makes me lean toward my first hunch. Has anyone else received similar 'notices'?




Giomanach -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 11:48:46)

Hey Penny

Any chance of seeing the fax? If not no worries, sounds like another variety of SPAM stew.

Dan




Donkey -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 12:05:44)

I don't think it's spam. ".us" is the official country code top-level domain for the United states the equivalent of ".uk" in the United Kingdom. ".com" is (theoretically) an international domain although it has more users in the USA so people think it's an American domain. There are plenty of dot com sites for UK & other european companies.

If you haven't already purchased the .us name then you now have the opportunity, if you think it's worth it, to buy it and stop anyone else using it. However if you want to protect every variation of your chosen name there are now so many domain options that it could be a costly exercise.




pmagas -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 12:44:12)

Here's the fax I received...




Donkey -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 12:57:49)

It is a scam, see Here You are still entitled to purchase the .us domain name if you want it, but you don't have to buy it through these people.




Giomanach -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 14:22:39)

Told Ya it was SPAM...do what I do Penny...never believe anything that comes through the mail, email or fax to do with this kida stuff, unless you are 110% sure you know it's legit.

Dan




dpf -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 14:31:32)

I think it is a scamming way of trying to pressure you into buying it.....its easy to become a domain reseller and they probably do have it available ( at an inflated price) and their "gimmick" is this technique. if you do want to buy it, .us domains are around $5 -$7US. I couldnt read it very well, how much are they charging?




pmagas -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 14:57:08)

Thank you for the confirmation - I was fairly sure it was a scam, too, but I had just enough doubt that I was second-guessing myself. It doesn't even have a price on it. Hmmmm......

Early on, I thought there was some value to the other extensions, but now I seriously wonder. I have one site that's a .net but all the others are .com's Does it matter or does most traffic come from links? And do the search engines care about the extension (they seemed to a few years ago, but not so much anymore.) Thanks for any insight you might offer!




Giomanach -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (8/31/2004 15:10:11)

Search engines work via keywords and phrases now, they will search any site that is on their index, regardless of web address.

Alot of my traffic comes from here, and Google, alsp get a bit from the other forums I partake in.

I have a .com (giomanach), share a .net(theaether), boht get mosty of the traffic from forums that have back links on them, my /com gets a lot from Google bots, Inktomi bots, and a few other bots just scanning the site.

Get yourself on the search engines and you'll be fine.

Dan




Ken of Kentropolis -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (3/6/2006 9:40:16)

They were formerly known as "Domain Support Group" and are fax blitzing their scam.

I got one from a client, but hey tried to send me one. But they didn't have my fax number. I ALMOST gave it to them, but they couldn't tell me what was such an "important notice" from a company I didn't already do business with.

They implied they were "THE" authority for domain registry, with direct relationships to all the big registrars, including mine, which they did not name.

BUT, they refused to send me any information by email because their "email system is down." How convenient. They eventually hung up on me after warning me I was missing their earthshatteringly important notice.

I'm thinking of calling their toll free number a few dozen times a day just to give them trouble. I wish someone would record them, trapping them in all sorts of scamming lies.




treetopsranch -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (3/8/2006 15:22:00)

Well I have a good one for you all. Had a client that did not renew the registration of her website name (wasn't her fault but that is another story) and someone grabbed it and held her up for ransom. She asked me to help her get it back so I did but it was costly. Started out at $3000 U.S. but after some back and forth emails from me, we got the price down to $270 which she paid.

Does anyone have a solution for this hyjacking of web site names?




Giomanach -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (3/8/2006 15:34:17)

Make the domain private - yes it costs that bit more, but make it private rather than public.

btw, this thread was started in 2004, would have been appreciated if a new one was started :)




Ken of Kentropolis -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (3/8/2006 15:42:37)


quote:

ORIGINAL: treetopsranch

Well I have a good one for you all. Had a client that did not renew the registration of her website name (wasn't her fault but that is another story) and someone grabbed it and held her up for ransom. She asked me to help her get it back so I did but it was costly. Started out at $3000 U.S. but after some back and forth emails from me, we got the price down to $270 which she paid.

Does anyone have a solution for this hyjacking of web site names?


A letter from a lawyer threatening to take them to court for trademark infringement. That's how cybersquatting law works these days.

I would pay a lawyer to slap them out of it just on principle though it costs more.

The alternative is to hunt them down and break their legs, which St. Peter himself wouldn't hold against you, though getting caught in this life may pose a problem.




Nicole -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (3/8/2006 15:56:47)

quote:

btw, this thread was started in 2004, would have been appreciated if a new one was started :)


That's one thing I've never understood about this place. Why not continue on in a thread started years ago if the topic is relevant?

Many people never report back about how a problem or situation ended anyway, so what's wrong with other people adding to the thread?

Nicole




roadrunr -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (3/8/2006 20:43:48)

Earlier today, I glanced at some of my email subjects that just came in, but I did not open the emails. One was Thomas Brunt OutFront-News with a subject of Domain Support Scam. I did not have time to open and read it at that time. Later I receive a phone call from someone speaking very bad English that I asked if they were in a foreign country. She said NY. She kept wanting my fax line so she could send me something from Domain Support Group. With her very bad English and my wanting more information than she was willing to supply, I told her no, she could not have my fax number. She finally hung up on me. Now, I read this forum about what it is all about. I must say that these people are really being active. I sure am glad that I read the subject line on Thomas' News because it did give me a heads up. Thanks, Thoma Brunt




Ken of Kentropolis -> RE: Fax from "Domain Registry Support" (3/8/2006 21:23:01)


quote:

ORIGINAL: roadrunr

... I receive a phone call from someone speaking very bad English that I asked if they were in a foreign country. She said NY. She kept wanting my fax line so she could send me something from Domain Support Group. With her very bad English and my wanting more information than she was willing to supply, I told her no, she could not have my fax number. She finally hung up on me. Now, I read this forum about what it is all about ...


EXACTLY what happened to me. In my call, she had an Indian accent.

Maybe we should start a call campaign and make them regret their toll free number.

I will pledge to call and complain at them once a day until they stop or change their number. Who's with me?





Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.109375