|
| |
|
|
Larry M.
Posts: 2834 Joined: 2/20/2003 From: Greenville, South Carolina, USA Status: offline
|
Help! Disturbing Email Message - 9/11/2005 9:17:27
I just received an email message from me that I didn't send !! Here is the Internet Header information: Return-Path: <larry@mysite.net> Delivered-To: larry@mysite.net Received: (qmail 14255 invoked by uid 89); 11 Sep 2005 10:37:44 -0000 Received: from unknown (HELO ym163175.ym.edu.tw) (140.129.163.175) by mail01.internetmailserver.net with SMTP; 11 Sep 2005 10:37:42 -0000 Received: from localhost.localdomain (HELO localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1]) by diminution.joinme.com (Mostfix) with ESMTP id BAD6333BFF for <larry@mysite.net>; Sat, 10 Sep 2005 19:25:59 -0400 Message-Id: <200309010816.06350.doyle@blackburnmail.com> Date: Sat, 10 Sep 2005 22:30:59 -0100 From: "larry@mysite.net" <larry@mysite.net> To: larry@mysite.net Subject: BREAKING NEWS: Microsoft CEO Vows to "KILL" Google MIME-Version: 1.0 This is real scary. Anyone know what's going on?
_____________________________
Larry M. Reality is the leading cause of stress among those few in touch with it
|
|
|
|
Tailslide
Posts: 6270 Joined: 5/10/2005 From: Out here on the raggedy edge Status: online
|
RE: Help! Disturbing Email Message - 9/11/2005 9:43:45
Hey I got this today too! It's just spam with spoofed header info - I wouldn't worry too much.
< Message edited by Tailslide -- 9/11/2005 9:49:03 >
_____________________________
"My strategy is so simple an idiot could have devised it" Little Blue Plane Web Design | Blood, Sweat & Rust - A Land Rover restoration project
|
|
|
|
caz
Posts: 3578 Joined: 10/10/2001 From: Somewhere south of Chester, UK Status: offline
|
RE: Help! Disturbing Email Message - 9/11/2005 9:56:15
quote:
Message-Id: <200309010816.06350.doyle@blackburnmail.com> Spam? Or, do you have a trojan on board? I get them but assume that they are spam, trawled from email addys on websites - that's only because I run NOD32, Kerio, A-Squared, Spybot etc, etc as well as a hardware firewall and keep them up to date. There are online malware scanners that you can use to check files http://virusscan.jotti.org/ this is one of them. And for an online scan for trojans try this http://www.windowsecurity.com/trojanscan/ but you need to use IE for this. HTH Carol
_____________________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will dance, or more on your keyboard. Cheshire cat. www.doracat.co.uk I remember when it took less than 4hrs to fly across the Atlantic.
|
|
|
|
Larry M.
Posts: 2834 Joined: 2/20/2003 From: Greenville, South Carolina, USA Status: offline
|
RE: Help! Disturbing Email Message - 9/11/2005 13:18:54
Carol, Thanks for the tip re: http://www.windowsecurity.com/trojanscan/ . A scan did reveal a "trace" on one cookie, but nothing else. Not sure if this is dangerous, or not so I left it in place. In the meantime, I've put my ear to the ground and learned this type of thing is now occuring with frequency regardless of ISP. A reliable source states: "I did get an email message from my phone service stating that their company records were compromised due to a hole in their MS Exchange server. Supposedly, only customer contact info was obtained." Taiwan has been identified as the originating source.
_____________________________
Larry M. Reality is the leading cause of stress among those few in touch with it
|
|
|
|
Universal4
Posts: 78 Joined: 7/25/2003 Status: offline
|
RE: Help! Disturbing Email Message - 9/16/2005 11:54:35
This is extremely common and been going on for a VERY long time. I get hundreds of these a week accross my many email accounts. Like someone mentioned, it's just spam with forged headers. Rick Universal4
|
|
|
|
dankos
Posts: 420 Joined: 1/10/2004 From: New York City Status: offline
|
RE: Help! Disturbing Email Message - 9/21/2005 14:35:16
Putting your own address in the "to" field is an old trick. See para 4: Another spam scam I've been seeing regularly is from an organization that calls itself SPAMIS, which is supposed to stand for "Strategic Partnership Against Microsoft Illegal Spam." I started getting these months ago, and found it pretty ironic that these claims that Microsoft sends unsolicited and unwanted e-mail were being sent as ... unsolicited and unwanted e-mail. The more recent messages from SPAMIS have gone far afield of the "spam" claims against Microsoft, and started making other accusations. The latest one, which I got last Thursday, is titled "Microsoft plans to stop supporting the American economy by outsourcing more than 10,000 jobs over 10 years to China." When you dig deeper into this story, you find that the source of those numbers appears to be Kai-Fu Lee, the Microsoft executive who left to work for Google and is being sued by Microsoft for breaching the non-compete agreement that he had signed. Not exactly an unbiased source. But whether or not the outsourcing numbers are true, it's highly unlikely that the company has any plans to "stop supporting the American economy." And if they did, what does that have to do with spam (which is supposedly SPAMIS's purpose for existing)? It has become very clear, if it wasn't already, that SPAMIS is not an anti-spam organization like CAUCE (the Coalition Against Unsolicited Commercial Email), but is in fact an anti-Microsoft organization that uses spam to further its campaign against the company. To confirm even further that SPAMIS is a spammer, their most recent messages - like so many other spam messages - disguise who the message is from by placing the recipient's own e-mail address in the "from" field. Thus, when their messages show up in my mailbox, it looks as if they came from me. Gosh, why would a legitimate organization do that? Obviously lots of other folks are onto their scam and blocking mail from their own domain. According to several sources on the Web, the driving force behind SPAMIS is none other than Robert Soloway, who is a well-known spammer and seller of mailing list addresses. According to Spamhaus, a popular register of known spam operations, rumor has it that Soloway has hired virus writers to create spam zombies. You can read more about Soloway here: http://www.wxpnews.com/rd/rd.cfm?id=050920ED-Spam_Is It comes as no surprise that Soloway was one of the spammers Microsoft sued for illegal spamming. He has recently mounted a campaign against Microsoft's Sender ID framework, a technology that's designed to stop spam by verifying the IP addresses of email senders and comparing them to the registered addresses for the purported sending domain to authenticate senders' identities - you can read more about Sender ID here: http://www.wxpnews.com/rd/rd.cfm?id=050920ED-Sender_ID
|
|
New Messages |
No New Messages |
Hot Topic w/ New Messages |
Hot Topic w/o New Messages |
Locked w/ New Messages |
Locked w/o New Messages |
|
Post New Thread
Reply to Message
Post New Poll
Submit Vote
Delete My Own Post
Delete My Own Thread
Rate Posts
|
|
|