navigation
a webmaster learning community
     Home    Register     Search      Help      Login    
FrontPage Alternative
Sponsors

Shopping Cart Software
Ecommerce software integrated into Frontpage, Dreamweaver and Golive templates. No monthly fees and available in ASP and PHP versions.

Website Templates
We also have a wide selection of Dreamweaver, Expression Web and Frontpage templates as well as webmaster tools and CSS layouts.

Frontpage website templates
Creative Website Templates for FrontPage, Dreamweaver, Flash, SwishMax

Search Forums
 

Advanced search
Recent Posts

 Todays Posts
 Most Active posts
 Posts since last visit
 My Recent Posts
 Mark posts read

 

Possible IE7 scam?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
Printable Version 

All Forums >> Community >> Computer Software and Hardware issues >> Possible IE7 scam?
Page: [1]
 
caz

 

Posts: 3587
Joined: 10/10/2001
From: Somewhere south of Chester, UK
Status: offline

 
Possible IE7 scam? - 10/16/2006 5:47:53   
Not sure whether this is potentially harmful, or just annoying but have just received an email headed "Please update Microsoft Internet Explorer". It's from "support at microsoft.com", which actually resolves to "quatres.saisons at wanadoo.fr"

quote:


Get downloads for Internet Explorer 7, including recommended updates as they become available. To download Internet Explorer 7 Release Candidate 1 in the language of your choice, please visit the Internet Explorer 7 worldwide page.

Internet Explorer 7 Release Candidate 1 is pre-release software. Please view the support page for troubleshooting and feedback options.


Download and support links resolve microsoft.com.al2g.info/windows/ie/support/

al2g.info has also been associated with Paypal spam.



_____________________________

Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will dance, or more on your keyboard.
Cheshire cat. www.doracat.co.uk

I remember when it took less than 4hrs to fly across the Atlantic.
BobbyDouglas

 

Posts: 5470
Joined: 5/15/2003
From: Arizona
Status: offline

 
RE: Possible IE7 scam? - 10/16/2006 12:17:30   
Does microsoft.com.al2g.info/windows/ie/support/ look like a legit address?

It is 100% scam material. I would say differently if the address took you to another website that wasn't trying to spoof MS, and also was providing an update because MS wasn't going to release one in time.

Even though the e-mail says it came from the MS address, it doesn't mean that it came from MS. Anyone can easily spoof an e-mail from address. If you take a look at the headers for the e-mail, look for the mailserver that it was sent from, and lookup the owner/location of the IP. Most likely it is someplace out of the country.

_____________________________

Arizona Web Design - Mr Bobs Web Design in Arizona
The Arizona Web Hosting Challenge

(in reply to caz)
caz

 

Posts: 3587
Joined: 10/10/2001
From: Somewhere south of Chester, UK
Status: offline

 
RE: Possible IE7 scam? - 10/16/2006 12:24:25   
Most likely someplace out of the country? Er, I did point this out,
quote:

It's from "support at microsoft.com", which actually resolves to "quatres.saisons at wanadoo.fr"


.fr = France

Someone has also said that AVG identifies the mail as a trojan downloader, so I wouldn't use (and didn't) any of the links on it.

_____________________________

Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will dance, or more on your keyboard.
Cheshire cat. www.doracat.co.uk

I remember when it took less than 4hrs to fly across the Atlantic.

(in reply to BobbyDouglas)
BobbyDouglas

 

Posts: 5470
Joined: 5/15/2003
From: Arizona
Status: offline

 
RE: Possible IE7 scam? - 10/16/2006 12:28:18   
quote:

It's from "support at microsoft.com", which actually resolves to "quatres.saisons at wanadoo.fr"

- The To/From/Reply-To addresses of e-mails are pretty much useless because anyone can fake them. It is highly unlikely that a spammer sent an e-mail and included his/her legit e-mail in the message. In order to find out where it came from, view the message source and look at the headers for an IP address. You should see one IP from your ISP, and another IP from somewhere else. Then go to http://whois.sc/192.168... where everything after the / is the IP address you are trying to lookup.

_____________________________

Arizona Web Design - Mr Bobs Web Design in Arizona
The Arizona Web Hosting Challenge

(in reply to caz)
caz

 

Posts: 3587
Joined: 10/10/2001
From: Somewhere south of Chester, UK
Status: offline

 
RE: Possible IE7 scam? - 10/16/2006 12:39:47   
I wasn't trying to look it up; what was in the header was enough for me to know that it wasn't from Microsoft, the rest confirmed that is was suspect - this was just a heads up to others to be aware that this sort of scam is doing the rounds.

_____________________________

Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will dance, or more on your keyboard.
Cheshire cat. www.doracat.co.uk

I remember when it took less than 4hrs to fly across the Atlantic.

(in reply to BobbyDouglas)
rdouglass

 

Posts: 9280
From: Biddeford, ME USA
Status: offline

 
RE: Possible IE7 scam? - 10/16/2006 13:30:57   
Microsoft never sends emails like this. Never. And they never send out patches attached to emails either.

As everyone else pointed out, this is an attempt at an exploit.

_____________________________

Don't take you're eye off your final destination.

ASP Checkbox Function Tutorial.

(in reply to caz)
caz

 

Posts: 3587
Joined: 10/10/2001
From: Somewhere south of Chester, UK
Status: offline

 
RE: Possible IE7 scam? - 10/18/2006 11:13:30   
Update from The Register

quote:

Hackers have created a bogus Internet Explorer 7 download site that attempts to load Trojan code onto the PCs of visiting surfers.

Traffic to the malicious website is being driven by a spoofed email message, claiming to be from support@microsoft.com, offering a link to download Release Candidate 1 (RC1) of Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.

Prospective marks visit a spoof website that looks similar to Microsoft's legitimate download page for IE 7 RC1. But instead of all that Microsoft goodness, surfers visit a site loaded with Trojan downloader codes which attempt to exploit browser vulnerabilities to download malware onto their machines.


:)

_____________________________

Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will dance, or more on your keyboard.
Cheshire cat. www.doracat.co.uk

I remember when it took less than 4hrs to fly across the Atlantic.

(in reply to rdouglass)
Page:   [1]

All Forums >> Community >> Computer Software and Hardware issues >> Possible IE7 scam?
Page: [1]
Jump to: 1





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts